“Pop Eyes”: Summer Synth- & Sophisti Pop by The Smooth Operators

Photo by Hanny Naibaho on Unsplash
Enjoy these fresh ice-like summer synth- and sophisti pop songs by The Smooth Operators! One of them is from The Dream Academy. The self-titled debut release for the art-school trio led by lead singer/guitarist Nick Laird-Clowes was produced by him and David Gilmour (Pink Floyd). The band used lush string arrangements and choir-like background vocals to create a sumptuous backdrop for their paisley-tinged pop. It worked to best effect on their smash Life in a Northern Town with its nostalgic lyrics and references to Frank Sinatra, The Beatles and The Walker Brothers (Make It Easy On Yourself). The song was written as an elegy to British folk singer Nick Drake, who died of an anti-depression overdose in 1974. The single's record sleeve included a dedication to him. Life in a Northern Town reached number 7 on the American Billboard Hot 100 in February 1986. Its memorable chant-like hook was later used in Sunchyme by Dario G.


ABC – King Without A Crown (1987)
Daryl Hall & John Oates – Method Of Modern Love (1984)
Twin Image – Love Lesson (1984)
Michael Sembello – First Time (1983)
Isle&fever – We’re Not Broken [Camino 84 Remix] (2018)
Breakbot Feat. Ruckazoid – Another You (2018)
Alexander O'Neal ‎– A Broken Heart Can Mend (1987)
Christine And The Queens Feat. Dâm-Funk – Damn, Dis-Moi (2018)
Mario Acquaviva – Notturno Italiano [Tamati Edit] (2018)
Wax ‎– Bridge To Your Heart [The Unabridged Version] (1987)
Mazy – Enemies (2018)
Roosevelt – Under The Sun (2018)
King ‎– Love & Pride [Body & Soul Mix] (1984)
Scritti Politti – Boom! There She Was (1988)
Alan Gorrie – Up (1985)
Kool & The Gang – Take My Heart (1981)
Sade – Hang On To Your Love (1984)
Capital Cities – Venus & River (2018)
The Big Dish – Slide (1985)
Lee Ritenour Feat. Eric Tagg – Sunset Drivers (1984)
Hue & Cry – I Refuse (1988)
Childhood – As I Am (2014)
It’s Immaterial – Driving Away From Home (1986)
Moodoïd – Miss Smith (2017)
Curiosity Killed The Cat ‎– Ordinary Day (1987)
The Dream Academy – Bound To Be (1985)
Blue Feather – Who Will Be The One (1985)
Wild Nothing – Nocturne (2012)
Icehouse – Hey Little Girl (1982)


Popular posts from this blog

Boogie & Disco Pleasures

Best Of 70s Soul: Collage

Smooth Sailing: California Groove & Radio Rock